The literal meaning of Islam is ‘Peace’. As a religion it stands for complete submission and obedience to the Almighty ‘Allah’.

The fundamental principles of Islam are five:

  1. Kalimah — there is none worthy of worship only Allah
  2. The observance of the obligatory prayers five times daily
  3. Fasting during the month of Ramadhaan
  4. Distribution of one-fortieth of one’s possessions to the needy
  5. Haj — pilgrimage to Mecca (or Makkah) once in a lifetime

The cardinal articles of faith are seven; belief in:

  1. One-ness of Allah
  2. All his Angels
  3. All his Messengers
  4. All his Prophets
  5. The Day of Resurrection
  6. The Day of Judgement
  7. Fate (e.g. All good and bad proceeds from Allah but we are responsible for our own actions)